Why I Deactivated My Twitter Account

Social Media Overload

Not as handsome as me, but you get the idea

When I first joined Twitter, I used it as something of a micro blog. I would tweet thoughts and ideas as they occurred to me as a result of conversations I was having with people, or situations that arose as I went about my day to day life. I was a net producer of value, usually just opening the app, posting my tweet, and then closing it again.

However, since quitting my job and having a lot more “spare” time during the day where I’m just sat around in front of the PC (there’s only so long you can spend at the gym), ostensibly studying charts and trading strategies, I found that I had less and less to contribute, and had fallen into a habit of scouring through pages of the tweets of others, looking for something I could comment on. I had gone from a net producer of value to a net consumer. I was reacting to the thoughts and ideas of others instead of giving my own.

Over time, I developed a habit to reflexively check twitter every 10 minutes. Without even realising, at any given point I would snatch my phone from my pocket and refresh the list of tweets before my conscious mind even knew what I was doing. It became a massive distraction, and was having a deleterious effect on my concentration and overall state of mind.

For this reason, I deactivated my account so that I could “unpollute” my mind and focus back in on the task at hand. Since I’ve done so, I’ve found my general mood much more positive, and the creative juices have started flowing once more. Initially, I still kept pulling my phone out of my pocket on reflex to check my tweets, before I realised there was nothing to check. The frequency of this has now almost decreased to zero, as I have de-trained my brain from the habit. Ironically (or more like as a direct consequence), I’ve thought of about 100 things to tweet in the last few days, none of which I’ve been able to.

I’ll probably log back into my account before the 30 day period after which it becomes deleted permanently, and unfollow most of the people I was following, since I still like the idea of using it as a sounding board for my thoughts which aren’t worth writing full blog posts about. I’ve made some good friends in the manosphere, and it’s really nothing personal, but I have other means to keep in touch with those people.

Try to make an objective assessment whether your social media interactions are actually a net positive on your life, or a hindrance to your creativity.

10 thoughts on “Why I Deactivated My Twitter Account

  1. Yeah this is going to be a rising tide. Electronic addictions have a way of slowly creeping on you until really your only choice is cold turkey. Add to this the weather getting a little better and I suppose some internet desertion was inevitable, especially amongst self-improvers/manosphere guys.

    • I used to read voraciously as a kid, I’d probably read 100 books by the time I was 10. I realised the other day, I hadn’t read an entire book for over a year. I’d just keep picking them up, reading a few chapters, and then never finishing them. Twitter (and bite-sized Internet content in general) destroys attention spans. The dopamine gratification is strong.

      • Sooo fucking true its ridiculous. I used to be a ravenous reader now I’ve got about 15 book i’ve read less than a quarter off. I unplugged from twitter and Facebook for over 2 months but was still reading other bite sized chunks on the net, so didn’t have the effect i’d hoped. Need to cut it all out.

  2. Ever since Roosh wrote about his internet addiction everyone has quit twitter. It’s kind of funny; I only read tweets in the morning when waking up, and then only for about 15 minutes. Unless someone mentioned me, I probably wouldn’t even read most tweets.

    After being off of the internet and social media for a week during Mardi Gras, it was really difficult to get back into it. I’m not really fully on anymore and when I am on, I no longer go to the sites that I enjoyed before the week off the internet.

    I’m really only on at work because in the evenings and weekends my husband keeps me busy, so I’m not as addicted as most. Thank goodness!

  3. I think many of us are emerging into a “post internet” phase. Whilst you’re deep into your journey of self-actualisation and blah blah, it’s great to completely immerse yourself in the culture, the mindset, absorbing any and all literature you can find, interacting with your fellows. Ultimately though, you come out the other side, and that which was one a net positive becomes a negative.

    I think Frost has it right when he mentions that he sets aside only one day a week to pursue his internet based pursuits. I for one really want to get back to reading heavily, and writing more. I’d forgotten how much I actually enjoyed hacking together a piece of prose. I’m pretty rusty – I was reading through some of my old posts and thought “I can’t write like that any more!” – but I’m sure it’ll all come back, and I’ll be spouting my drivel several times a week once more.

    • It helps to be really interested in a subject to write well; when people are writing because they “need to get a post out” their post shows it, but if a person is consumed by a subject, their writing will reflect that also, for the better.

      • Yes, I agree entirely – I think it’s why I stopped blogging for so long. The journey which compelled me to start writing – self-acceptance – had been completed.

        Recently I feel however that I’ve embarked upon a new stage, namely that to become ultimately successful on my own terms, and to prove to myself and the world at large that I have what it takes to enter the elite of the wealthy and powerful.

  4. Hey man,
    when you maximized your style, did you use any guide? I have a good style but I’d like it to be bulletproof. Effortless Gent guides look solid, as well as fashiongame.tv (Ollie Pearce who did videos for saturday sarge and daygame.com).

Leave a Reply

