A Punch Is Just A Punch

Bruce Lee was once quoted as saying:

“Before I studied the art, a punch to me was just like a punch, a kick just like a kick. After I learned the art, a punch was no longer a punch, a kick no longer a kick. Now that I’ve understood the art, a punch is just like a punch, a kick just like a kick.”

The analogy to game is strong.

We start off, clueless, praising girls we like from a position of neediness, blowing smoke up their arses, supplicating and basically reducing our chances of getting with them to zero, ignorant of our behaviours and the effect they have. A compliment is just a compliment.

We then learn game and self-improvement. We learn the neg, we learn to emulate the behavioural tendencies of alpha men, we learn to conceal our true intentions from the girl so that she doesn’t blow us out before our other game skills have had a chance to win her over. We work out, study, read, further ourselves. But we are constantly analysing our every word and deed. A compliment is no longer a compliment.

Eventually, through success with women and self-improvement, we come out the other side. Coming from a position of strong masculine frame, non-neediness and being comfortable enough with yourself to be able to express your true feelings without shame, a compliment is a demonstration of value. We utter them, unthinkingly and automatically. A compliment is just a compliment once more.

(many thanks to my friend in the North for putting me on to this quote)

8 thoughts on “A Punch Is Just A Punch

  1. Bruce is copping zen literature, over a thousand years old.

    “Before I had studied Ch’an (zen) for thirty years, I saw mountains as mountains, and waters as waters. When I arrived at a more intimate knowledge, I came to the point where I saw that mountains are not mountains, and waters are not waters. But now that I have got its very substance I am at rest. For it’s just that I see mountains once again as mountains, and waters once again as waters.”

  2. Just came across the blog. Do you write about entrepreneurship here as well? I think we could benefit from your thoughts on business.

  3. This is exactly what I was trying to say, but 12 hours of sleep in the past 4 nights has taken its toll on my mind. Great post and completely spot on.

  4. Pingback: Great Alpha Male Books | Stylelife Blog

  5. Pingback: Tyler Durden Game | Double Your Dating Deangelo

  6. Pingback: David Deangelo Man Transformation Review | Attraction Formula

Leave a Reply

