What a Difference a Week Can Make

‘Nuff said

I’m not sure if anyone else noticed, but personally I was aware that a lot of my postings over the last couple of weeks had become a little negative in tone. This is somewhat out of character for me, being a generally upbeat, cheerful kind of chap. A combination of recovering from a severe bout of food poisoning, jet lag which lasted nearly 2 full weeks caused by coming back from SE Asia, and getting a rejection from a girl I actually quite liked knocked me for six.

Following my own advice however, I resolved not to identify with my bad mood, to maintain all my self-improvement projects, and kept heart that it would pass and I would return to normal (although after about 10 days of being miserable I did start to wonder!)

This week, I finally found a pimp new pad to move into in south west London with a couple of good pals – we’d been looking for months, and the rental market is traditionally dead over the Christmas and New Year period, so it’s great to finally have somewhere lined up. The area we are moving to has a main demographic of 25-30 year old young professionals, and about 60% women (or so it seems walking around anyway). There are literally scores of bars, clubs and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the new place (logistics are key – I really wanted somewhere within walking distance to be able to bounce girls back to after dates/nights out, so that there was no need to get into a taxi or public transport, and thereby avoiding the possibility of the girl’s logical forebrain having a chance to kick in). As we head towards Summer, the area will be packed out with a vibrant, young crowd, and many good times shall be had.

I also attended my first Krav Maga session. I was actually all set to head to Muay Thai instead, and then about 3 hours before my first class was due to start, this post popped up on Return of Kings and made me change my mind – call it fate. The class was a great adrenaline buzz, and as the biggest guy there (I’m not huge by any means, but I’m a damn sight bigger than 95% of people) I was nominated unofficial crash test dummy for the instructor to demonstrate all the techniques on, and I ended up eating a face full of floor about 50 times. The class was pretty big (about 40 people), but most people were pretty cool, and there were even a couple of relatively hot girls. It was a little strange to be manhandling some dude’s face that I’d only just met 30 seconds prior, but I’ve never been afraid of getting stuck in. At the end, we were directed to pummel the crap out of a pad for 60 seconds, and then try and repeat the techniques we had learned to see if we could remember them under stress. After the third repetition of this, I was all set to puke. By the end, I was bruised, bleeding from a couple of places due to accidental blows to the face, exhausted, but beaming with the adrenaline of the whole thing. I even ended up talking to some dude about The Game within 30 seconds of meeting him (why do I always seem to attract these type of people!) I’m going to take some private sessions to get myself up to speed faster, but I’ll keep going down to the weekly large classes also since it was a good social experience.

I met up with a dude last night who I came into contact with through this blog, and we shared some interesting conversations over a few drinks (non-alcoholic for me) in a nearby boozer. It’s great to meet up with a fellow manospherian, and indeed, one of the reasons I started this blog in the first place was to come into contact with like-minded individuals, so it’s worked in that respect. Perhaps a London-based meetup for us English manospherians (I can think of at least 5 or 6 off hand) could be on the cards in the future.

My slow bulk continued apace, I’m now 4lb up in 2 weeks (this is actually a little too much to be honest – it’s only realistically possible in an ideal scenario (no steroids), to put on about 2lb of lean muscle a month, so I need to rein my macros back in a bit so I don’t put on too much fat – I’ll only end up having to cut it all back off again 6 months down the line). All of my big lifts are going up (bench, squat, deadlift, overhead press) in very small increments, following the “progressive poundages” and abbreviated training method as espoused in Beyond Brawn.

And lastly, I finally put my first few spread bets on the stock market, using the market analysis software I’ve spent the last 5 months writing in my spare time. It’s by no means finished, but it’s now in a completely usable state, and I wanted to get underway. I’m keeping the bets very small to start off with (£1/point) to make sure everything checks out, but I’m already £20 up in 3 days. If I’d been making more normal bet sizes of around £10/point, that’d be a bonus £200 in the bank already – it really does seem my hopes of using this system to gain total financial independence within a year or two could be fully realised.

My system, in all its glory

All in all, an extremely productive week, and it’s good to be back on track, and back to myself. Next week I have my coaching session with Steve Jabba which should be a great buzz, and push me on to the next level in my daygame.

Cheers

3 thoughts on “What a Difference a Week Can Make

  1. “This week, I finally found a pimp new pad to move into in south west London with a couple of good pals – we’d been looking for months, and the rental market is traditionally dead over the Christmas and New Year period, so it’s great to finally have somewhere lined up. The area we are moving to has a main demographic of 25-30 year old young professionals, and about 60% women (or so it seems walking around anyway). There are literally scores of bars, clubs and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the new place (logistics are key – I really wanted somewhere within walking distance to be able to bounce girls back to after dates/nights out, so that there was no need to get into a taxi or public transport, and thereby avoiding the possibility of the girl’s logical forebrain having a chance to kick in). As we head towards Summer, the area will be packed out with a vibrant, young crowd, and many good times shall be had.”

    Sweeeeeet!!!!! You’ve got it made brother.

    “The class was pretty big (about 40 people), but most people were pretty cool, and there were even a couple of relatively hot girls.”

    Ahhh Jewish girls who can do Krav Maga. Total sexiness.

    “Next week I have my coaching session with Steve Jabba which should be a great buzz, and push me on to the next level in my daygame.”

    Sure it will be AWESOME for you. Go hard!!!

    • Can’t wait to ditch this area I’ve been in since April – it’s grimy, poor, full of stupid hipsters, and terrible for logistics. Apart from that girl I picked up at the bus stop opposite my apartment at 3am and was shagging 15 minutes later…

Leave a Reply

