Managing Your Moods

Good moods and bad moods come and go. Let’s face it, even if you’ve got your shit more together than a festival portaloo, it’s simply not possible to be in a good mood all the time. If you were, your “good” mood would just become your baseline, and what seemed “normal” before would just become your “bad” mood instead. It’s all relative.

Ensuring that you are doing as much as possible to further yourself as a masculine individual can help to maximise the amount of time you are in a comparatively “good” mood, but there are circumstances and events beyond your control which will somewhat frequently serve to produce unwanted intrusions, and try their best to prick your little bubble of contentedness.

The key thing I’ve learned as I’ve become older is simply to not worry unduly about my moods, to just accept them for what they are. There was a time when my self-confidence was fresh and newly acquired, that I would worry that every blip that deviated me away from being in “state” marked the beginning of the end, and that I would slowly spiral back down into my former condition of social anxiety and general chodeness. The fact is – it never happened. Sometimes it took a day, sometimes a week, but invariably my good mood always returned, and with it all of the confidence and self-assuredness that I had cultivated up until that point in my life. Worrying only served to deepen the temporary malaise, and in all reality probably just prolonged it.

Now that’s not to say that you should be a passive victim of low state or bad moods when they come over you. Continue to do the same things as you always do – work out, study, work on your game or a personal project – but in general, just try as much as you can to put your mood out of your mind. Be aware of it, acknowledge it, much as you might a ticking clock in the next room, but pay it no more heed than that. The ticking might get really loud, and really annoying, but remain steadfast and stoic. There is no need to be concerned that you’re going to lose all your hard-earned self-developmental progress – you simply won’t. Unless some terrible personal tragedy has befallen you, the malaise will be fleeting and transient.

You’ll find the older you get, and the more comfortable in your own skin you become, that these spells become less and less frequent, and when they do happen, the duration is much shorter, simply because you have learned how to manage your state better. I don’t believe they can ever be fully eliminated however, and indeed you would perhaps not want them to be so – for the only reason we are aware of the nature of the light is by contrast with the dark.

5 thoughts on “Managing Your Moods

  1. Great post. I find the extremes of my moods have levelled out with age – I definitely don’t get anything like the same lows, but I do think the highs aren’t as intense either. But not in a bad way – in a ‘more grounded and stable’ kind of way. Overall trend is definitely happier.

    • I remember when I first got started on all this game stuff – the tone of my entire week would bet set on whether I’d managed to fluke a drunken pull or two on the weekend’s night out. I’d range from not even having enough self-worth to meet a girl’s gaze for the 6 following days in the event of abject failure, to driving along in my car screaming “YES!!!” punching the steering wheel with frenzied glee if I’d scored something half decent. I’m sure a number of fellow motorists though I was actually deranged.

      As you say, keeping within a narrow, overall happier range is definitely preferable.

    • Largely due to hormonal changes settling down when we pass our mid-twenties. A key part for me when I’m in a bad mood is to realise my life is pretty fucking awesome. I really don’t have much to complain about in comparison to the billion+ people in poverty around the world.

Leave a Reply

