Annum Faustum

This was too weird not to include

(I figured there would be a ton of posts with “New Year” in the title so I thought I’d be a smart arse and put it in Latin instead)

Rewind 365 days, and I was stood shoulder to shoulder with tens of thousands of other revellers at Sydney harbour, watching one of the most impressive firework displays I’ve ever seen with a litre of Jack Daniels shoved down my trouser leg.

This year draws to a close under somewhat less auspicious circumstances, as I sit at my parents house in the arse-end of nowhere where I’m up visting for the holidays, having been unable to summon the motivation for the first time since I was 16 to set forth into the rip-off meat market that is New Year in the UK. Triple taxi fare anyone?

Partially it’s because I’ve been out so many times over the last 15 years of my life, it holds almost no excitement for me any more. The general public bore me more and more with each passing year, and all of my good friends with whom I can hold intellectually stimulating conversations are elsewhere in the country.

That, combined with the fact that I have literally no self-control when I go out drinking, frequently blacking out most of the night, waking up with strange women in my bed (or not even in my own bed – I recall a recent incident when my memory kicked back in about 7am, and I found myself on a residential street somewhere in the middle of Manchester with a girl in front of me with her skirt hitched up around her waist shouting “shag me on this wall” – all very strange) covered with mysterious bruises and cuts, minus several hundred pounds sterling and sometimes my phone too, and with a hangover that lasts for three days and causes mild morbidity. That could be a small factor in my reluctance.

I’m off out this weekend anyway with two of my best mates, who are both completely red pill, and we’ll tear up the town then. That, and I’ve just booked a two week holiday to Cambodia for mid January, so I think New Year can do without me this year!

2012 has been a fantastic year. I’ve changed beyond all recognition, and where this time a year ago I saw problems with no solutions, hopelessness and despair, now all I can see everywhere I look is opportunity and positive outcomes.

I’m not setting lofty goals for 2013 beyond the few goals I laid out in a previous post, I’m just going to take it as it comes, but I feel deep down that it can’t help but surpass this year – the person I have become is now capable of so much more than I was, and my ability to create new opportunities and motivate myself is accelerating.

Anyone reading this – make this next year the best year of your life. Take chances, go to the gym, study intellectual pursuits, take up a martial art, read and practise game, dress better – take every single opportunity that passes you to improve yourself. Control of your life is in your hands, go out there and grab it.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Annum Faustum

Leave a Reply

