The Double-Edged Sword of Intelligence

I was fortunate. I was born with the potential for great intelligence, and was nurtured in the right environment to enable it to develop maximally. At the last time of checking, my IQ was approaching 160.

I’m not saying this to gloat, and indeed, IQ tests only measure a very specific type of intelligence – namely that of logic, verbal reasoning and pattern recognition – whilst giving little credence to those other equally important facets of intellect such as creativity and imagination. I’m merely stating it as some sort of objective proof that I am indeed a reasonably bright chap as gauged by a commonly accepted metric.

I’m able to appreciate life on levels that some people will never be able to. I am also able to ruthlessly introspect, and sometimes self-destructively micro-analyse every diminutive facet of my own psyche.

I learn things with relative ease, and yet consequently value little because it comes so easily. When I go out, I drink to the point of oblivion to make the world around me more interesting.

I am at my most animated when presented with the opportunity to interact with others of greater intellect than myself, to plumb the breadth and depth of their knowledge, soaking it up like a sponge. I am presented with this opportunity rarely.

I have learned game, and am able to use its teaching to attract hot girls. Who I then consequently care absolutely nothing about because they offer me as much intellectual stimulation as a botched lobotomy.

Don’t get me wrong, despite being aware that ignorance is indeed bliss, I would not trade in my intelligence for the life of a dullard. I merely feel that I am now arriving at a point in my life where I really need to start living the kind of life that stimulates me on as many levels as possible, lest the dreaded ennui sneak up on me unawares and ensnare me in its enervating grasp.

Having accomplished the goals I set forth for myself this year, next year’s goals are to include:

  • Take up a martial art
  • Learn to ride a motorbike
  • Study creative writing
  • Become financially independent from full time work
  • Meet some manosphere writers

If you were lucky enough to win the genetic lottery, and be born genuinely intelligent (as I believe many manosphere writers were), make sure you are always pushing yourself forward on as many levels as possible. To do any less is an affront to the gift you were born with.

7 thoughts on “The Double-Edged Sword of Intelligence

  1. I hear you on the ability/curse to see so much more of the world around you, as well as within yourself. You seem to be handling it well, though (at least better than me).

    However, I love the random picture thing you were doing. The dog wizard, the chick with plates. Downright awesome.

  2. Drinking to oblivion to make life interesting, I used to do that, too. Then I took up motorcycle riding, and there’s nothing quite like it. If you want to read about it, Bodies in Motion: Evolution and Experience in Motorcycling by Steven Thompson describes the experience better than anything I’ve seen.

    • Interesting, I’d actually already put down learning to ride a motorbike as something I wanted to do next year. I can imagine the adrenaline rush is second to none. I’ll add that book to my reading list.

  3. have you also being “honored” with low emotional intelligence as a lot of others high IQs out there.
    And have you lowered your expectations in girls because otherwise you’d not easily find someone suitable for a mind to mind connection?

    • Initially yes – I found it very hard to intuitively socially relate to others as a child, and had to learn through observation and trial and error. But consequently, I think applying a methodical learning-based approach to it over my life has meant I’ve maybe ended up better at it now than most “naturals”.

      And with respect to women – yes, mainly. Some small romantic core of myself that refuses to die still holds out hope however. I’ve been meaning to write something related to this for a couple of weeks actually, I’ll post it up soon.

Leave a Reply

