Putting in the Work

Don’t ask me why, it just appeared when I googled “working”

So on a whim, I just decided to trawl back to the start of Krauser’s sargeathon in his blog, and it’s really made it hit home how much work it takes to make it good in this game.

I’ve got by on natural (usually drunken) confidence over the years, and I’ve always considered that I do ok for myself – I’m not one to keep track of notches, but if I had to hazard a rough guess, I’d say between 40 – 50. None have been over an 8.5 though (I do keep track of hotness).

Since moving to London, the capital really has had quite a pronounced effect on me. Everyone is so competitive and full of themselves down here, you have to make one of two choices – get trampled on, or step up and not only join them, but beat them at their own game. To that end, in the space of 6 months, I’m now earning a salary that puts me in the top 1% of the country, I’ve stripped down to 9% body fat, and wear entirely tailored clothes. My sense of entitlement is through the roof, and rightfully so. When I go out and drink, I can hit states of literal “god-mode” where all my inhibitions disappear, yet I am completely in control and know what I am doing. I’ve sometimes pulled 5, 6, 7, maybe even 8 women in a single night in this state and thought nothing of it. And yet I still find it impossible to approach and open whilst sober in the middle of the day.

I have to put the work in. I need to take a week off my job, preferably with a wing, and just do 20 approaches a day for a week, until the very act has become internalised. I feel that so much of the rest of my life is already in place, that it wouldn’t even take me very long to bring my skill level up until it is congruent with the rest of my character. I may even take a bootcamp, simply because then I have paid money and am being forced into set – I have no excuse to myself not to do it.

There is no substitute for effort. If you want to get to the top, you must have the drive, determination, and be willing to put the time in. If you only give it a mediocre amount of effort, you will only achieve mediocre results, it’s as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

